GLP-1 Weight Loss Review
altRx Review 2026: Is Its $89 Semaglutide Program Worth It?
altRx advertises compounded semaglutide from $89/month and tirzepatide from $149/month, with online visits, shipping, and support folded into one all-inclusive price.
- Lowest advertised starting price in our Aug 2026 comparison
- Compounded — not FDA-approved finished drugs
- All-inclusive monthly price
- Prescription only
Semaglutide $89/mo · Tirzepatide $149/mo (advertised)
Compounded medication · introductory pricing — confirm renewal terms at checkout
By Charly P., Founder & Telehealth Researcher · Not medically reviewed
Published May 1, 2026 · Updated August 25, 2026 · Pricing last checked August 2026
- Compounded by licensed 503A pharmacies
- 100% online visits
- Same price at every dose
- Cancel anytime
Looking at the whole field? See our best GLP-1 weight loss programs comparison to see how altRx ranks against every major provider.
How We Evaluated altRx
This is a research-based editorial review. We did not create a patient account, complete checkout, place an order, or use altRx's medication, so nothing here should be read as a firsthand testing account. Our findings come from altRx's official website and public, authoritative medical sources, cross-checked against the other GLP-1 programs we track.
| Date researched | August 2026 |
|---|---|
| Pricing last verified | August 2026 (altRx official pricing page) |
| Official sources reviewed | altRx pricing, How It Works, FAQ, and legal/disclaimer pages (Trinity HealthCare Supply, LLC d/b/a altRx), including its OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC disclosures |
| Comparison criteria | Advertised price & conditions, what the membership includes, medication type & regulatory status, medical safeguards, availability, support, cancellation/refund, reputation & evidence |
| Personally tested? | No — no checkout, order, or medication use |
| Could not independently verify | Exact delivery window (any "2-day" claim), buy-now-pay-later options, renewal price after the introductory offer or a prepaid term, the specific pharmacy and its accreditation, self-reported outcome figures, and the full state-availability list |
| How the rating was calculated | A weighted mean of six scored categories (see "How We Scored altRx"), evaluated August 2026 |
What Is altRx?
altRx — also written Alt Rx — is a telehealth weight-management membership that offers clinician-guided compounded GLP-1 treatment. altRx (Trinity HealthCare Supply, LLC d/b/a altRx) provides the platform and administrative services; medical services, including clinical evaluation and prescribing, are provided by OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC and its affiliated practices, using U.S.-licensed providers. A provider reviews your intake and prescribes only after a telehealth consultation — a prescription is never guaranteed.
altRx advertises that one monthly price covers the whole program (Provider-published):
- ✓100% online medical visits with a licensed clinician
- ✓Compounded GLP-1 medication, if prescribed
- ✓Injection supplies (syringes and alcohol prep pads)
- ✓Free, discreet shipping
- ✓Ongoing care-team support
The honest tradeoff, stated plainly: at $89 the medication is compounded, not a branded FDA-approved product. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide share the same active ingredient as Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro and Zepbound, but aren't the identical finished drug and aren't FDA-approved — a reasonable trade for many at a fraction of the branded cost, not for someone who needs the brand-name pen specifically. Full breakdown in the compounded-vs-branded section below.
Semaglutide $89/mo · Tirzepatide $149/mo (advertised introductory pricing)
See If You Qualify — Free 2-Minute Quiz →Prescription only · confirm renewal terms at checkout
altRx Pricing & Plans
The prices below are advertised starting prices published on altRx's official pricing page and last checked in August 2026. altRx presents $89 (semaglutide) and $149 (tirzepatide) as a limited-time introductory offer versus a higher “was” price, and its savings figures are, per altRx's own note, “based on similar competitor pricing.”
Compounded Semaglutide (GLP-1) — advertised pricing
| 1 month | $89/month (advertised introductory rate; altRx lists a $199 regular price) |
|---|---|
| 3 months | $85/month ($255 total) |
| 6 months | $80/month ($480 total) |
| 12 months | $75/month ($900 total) |
Compounded Tirzepatide (GLP-1/GIP) — advertised pricing
| 1 month | $149/month (advertised introductory rate) |
|---|---|
| 3 months | $144/month ($432 total) |
| 6 months | $130/month ($780 total) |
| 12 months | $125/month ($1,500 total) |
Does the price go up as your dose increases?
This catches a lot of people out with other platforms: semaglutide and tirzepatide are titrated upward over the first months, and providers that price by milligram get more expensive as your dose climbs. altRx advertises the opposite — “same price, every month, all doses” (Provider-published) — so its cost is tied to which molecule you are on, not how far you have titrated.
The variable to confirm is renewal, not dose: $89/$149 are a limited-time introductory offer, and prepaid 3-, 6-, and 12-month plans lock a lower rate for the term paid — ask what the monthly price reverts to when the promotion or prepaid term ends, and screenshot the pricing page at signup to settle any later dispute.
Compounded vs. Branded: What altRx Prescribes
This is the most important distinction on the page, so we will state it flatly. altRx dispenses compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide — not the branded, FDA-approved finished products. Compounded medications are prepared by state-licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. Per altRx's own disclaimer, these medications are not FDA-approved and have not been evaluated by the FDA for safety, efficacy, or quality (Provider-published).
Compounded and branded versions share the same active ingredient, but they are not identical and not interchangeable. They can differ in formulation, manufacturing, testing, and regulatory oversight. The FDA explains how compounding is regulated in its drug-compounding Q&A, and it has issued specific consumer guidance on compounded semaglutide products — both worth reading before choosing a compounded route on any platform (Medical/regulatory evidence).
A related point on evidence: the well-known trial results (the SURMOUNT and STEP programs) belong to the branded products. Those outcomes have not been established for compounded preparations, so treat published trial numbers as evidence about the FDA-approved drugs, not as a projection of what a compounded vial will do. If brand-name medication is a requirement for you, our Pallas Health review covers a program that keeps FDA-approved GLP-1s on the table.
How altRx Works: 3 Steps
- 1.Take the 2-minute quiz
Complete a free online assessment covering your health history and goals to see if you may qualify. No cost, no obligation.
- 2.Get a personalized plan
A licensed provider within the OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC network reviews your information and, if treatment is appropriate, builds a care plan and may prescribe compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide. A prescription is never guaranteed.
- 3.Receive your medication
If prescribed, your medication ships from a state-licensed pharmacy with free, discreet shipping, and your care team provides ongoing support throughout your membership.
Pros and Cons of altRx
Pros
- Lowest advertised starting price among the providers in our August 2026 comparison
- Flat pricing advertised across all doses — cost tracks the molecule, not your titration
- All-inclusive monthly price: online visit, medication if prescribed, supplies, and support
- 100% online — no in-person clinic visits required
- No insurance required; altRx states plans are FSA eligible
- "Cancel anytime" with no long-term commitment (confirm prepaid-term terms)
- Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered
Cons
- Compounded medication — not an FDA-approved finished product; not evaluated by the FDA for safety, efficacy, or quality
- Headline $89/$149 prices are a limited-time introductory offer; renewal price after the promo or a prepaid term is not clearly published
- Not available in all U.S. states (the full eligible-state list is not published)
- The specific pharmacy filling an order, and its accreditation, are not published
- Outcome figures are self-reported member data, not clinical-trial results
- Delivery window is not stated; we could not confirm any "2-day" shipping claim
- Refund handling after a clinical denial is not clearly published — review the Refund & Cancellation Policy
We do not count “requires a prescription” as a drawback — a clinician deciding eligibility is an expected safeguard, not a flaw.
- •Compared with Embody and Shed, altRx keeps the lowest advertised semaglutide entry price in our set while also offering tirzepatide.
- •Vaylen matches altRx's $149 tirzepatide rate only on a 12-month plan billed upfront, and lists a higher month-to-month price otherwise.
- •The same annual-plan asterisk applies at the very bottom of the market — our Embody vs SnagRx comparison works through which of those sub-$90 offers are unconditional and which are not.
altRx vs. Other GLP-1 Programs
Based on advertised prices published on each provider's official website in our August 2026 comparison. Competitor figures vary and are ranges, not fixed quotes; confirm current pricing and conditions with each provider.
| Feature | altRx (advertised) | Other GLP-1 programs (typical) |
|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide starting price | $89/month | Roughly $99–$299/month |
| Tirzepatide starting price | $149/month | Roughly $199–$399/month |
| Medication type | Compounded (not FDA-approved) | Compounded and/or branded |
| Medical visits | 100% online | Varies by provider |
| Dose-based price increases | No — flat, all doses | Some price by dose |
| Shipping | Free, discreet (window not stated) | Varies by provider |
| Cancel anytime | Yes (confirm prepaid-term terms) | Varies |
| Insurance required | No | No (most providers) |
Reported Results & Member Reviews
Provider-reported outcomes. altRx reports an 18% average weight loss across its member base, with 93% of members keeping the weight off and 9 out of 10 saying they would recommend the program. Per altRx's own disclosures, these figures are self-reported member data collected at intake and at intervals thereafter — they are not derived from clinical trials or peer-reviewed studies, no sample size or study duration is published, and individual results vary. We could not independently verify them, so treat them as marketing claims rather than clinical evidence.
altRx also advertises a 4.4 rating “based on member-reported satisfaction” and states it has served more than 125,000 members (Provider-published; not independently verified).
Member testimonials published by altRx
Testimonials are published by altRx and reflect individual experiences; altRx states some testimonials are from paid endorsers and that individual results vary. We accessed these on altRx's official site in August 2026 and did not independently verify them.
Who altRx Is Best For
altRx is the strongest fit for patients who:
- ✓Want a low advertised monthly cost for a clinician-guided GLP-1 program
- ✓Are comfortable with compounded medication after understanding it is not FDA-approved
- ✓Prefer one all-inclusive price with no separate membership fee (confirm renewal terms)
- ✓Are new to GLP-1 therapy and want a low-cost entry point before committing long-term
- ✓Are comfortable with a weekly self-administered subcutaneous injection
- ✓Do not require the branded, FDA-approved pen specifically
If FDA-approved medication is a hard requirement, or you want the trial-backed branded drugs, altRx is not the right pick — a program like Pallas Health keeps both routes available.
How We Scored altRx
Our 8.1/10 is a weighted mean of six categories, scored in August 2026 using the same criteria we apply to every GLP-1 program. Scores reflect provider-published information and our editorial analysis; where we could not verify a claim, the category is capped rather than given full marks.
How We Scored It
Lowest advertised starting price in our set and flat across doses; capped because the rate is introductory and renewal pricing is not clearly published.
U.S.-licensed providers (OpenLoop), telehealth evaluation, and prescription required; medication is compounded and not FDA-approved.
All-inclusive plan with ongoing care-team support; support quality not independently verified.
Only self-reported outcomes and paid-endorser testimonials are available; no independent or trial evidence.
100% online, free shipping, FSA eligible; not in all states and delivery window not stated.
Member-reported 4.4 rating and 125k+ members claimed; not independently verified.
The same weighted method is applied to every provider we score, so competitor ratings are comparable. See our full methodology.
altRx Alternatives
altRx competes on entry price and bills month to month. Three alternatives worth weighing:
- •He & She MD: a lower first-six-months rate for injectable semaglutide that renews higher, and bundles 1:1 clinician messaging into the plan.
- •Want brand-name medication kept on the table? Our Pallas Health review covers a program that runs both FDA-approved and compounded routes from one intake.
- •Aged 65–75 with Medicare Part D? Check the Found Medicare GLP-1 Bridge before paying cash anywhere.
Recommended Providers
Our editorial team’s top picks for this category.
altRx FAQ
Final Verdict
Our editorial take
altRx removes the biggest barrier to GLP-1 access — cost — and does it cleanly: among the programs in our August 2026 comparison, it has the lowest advertised starting price, with online visits, free shipping, and an all-inclusive membership price. The asterisk is real and worth understanding: the medication is compounded, not FDA-approved, and the headline $89/$149 figures are a limited-time introductory rate whose renewal cost altRx does not clearly publish. For a patient who accepts compounded medication and confirms the renewal terms at checkout, it is a strong value. If the branded, FDA-approved pen is a hard requirement, this is not your program. Overall: 8.1/10.
Advertised introductory pricing: semaglutide $89/mo · tirzepatide $149/mo
See If You Qualify With altRx →Compounded medication · confirm renewal terms · cancel anytime
Sources & Verification
Prices, policies, and program details below were taken from altRx's official website and last checked in August 2026. Provider-published information is attributed as such and was not independently verified through checkout. Medical and regulatory statements are supported by independent authorities.
- Prices, plans, savings, “same price all doses,” FSA eligibility, cancel-anytime, free shipping: altRx official website — pricing, How It Works, and FAQ pages (checked August 2026).
- Company structure, pharmacy network, and compounded-medication status: altRx official website legal/disclaimer text (Trinity HealthCare Supply, LLC d/b/a altRx; medical services by OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC), checked August 2026.
- Reported outcomes (18% average loss, 93% maintenance, 9-in-10 recommendation), 4.4 rating, 125,000+ members, testimonials: self-reported member data and testimonials published by altRx (checked August 2026); not independently verified and not derived from clinical trials.
- Drug compounding regulation: U.S. FDA — Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers.
- Compounded semaglutide safety guidance: U.S. FDA — Medications Containing Semaglutide.
Advertising & Affiliate Disclosure: We may receive compensation when you click on links to partners featured on this site. Our rankings and recommendations are based on our independent research methodology and editorial standards, not on sponsorship or payment. Some links are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you make a purchase.
Medical Disclaimer: The content on this site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult with a qualified healthcare provider for medical questions, treatment decisions, or emergency care. Do not disregard professional medical advice or delay seeking it based on information found here.