GLP-1 Weight Loss Review
Zenbody Review 2026: Is Its Dual GLP-1 Program Worth It?
Zenbody prescribes compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, each available as a weekly injection or a daily oral tablet, with clinician-guided dosing and ongoing app-based support.
- Injection or daily oral tablet — same choice for both molecules
- Compounded — not FDA-approved finished drugs
- Licensed clinicians review every intake
- Zenbody app for tracking, coaching & monthly check-ins
Semaglutide $149/mo · Tirzepatide $179/mo (advertised)
Compounded medication · prescription required · confirm state availability at checkout
By Charly P., Founder & Telehealth Researcher · Not medically reviewed
Published September 5, 2026 · Pricing last checked September 2026
- Licensed clinicians
- Injection or oral tablet, either molecule
- Free delivery
- App-based ongoing support
Looking at the whole field? See our best GLP-1 weight loss programs comparison to see how Zenbody ranks against every major provider.
How We Evaluated Zenbody
This is a research-based editorial review. We did not create a patient account, complete checkout, place an order, or use Zenbody's medication, so nothing here should be read as a firsthand testing account. Our findings come from Zenbody's official website and public, authoritative medical sources, cross-checked against the other GLP-1 programs we track.
| Date researched | September 2026 |
|---|---|
| Pricing last verified | September 2026 (Zenbody official pricing page) |
| Official sources reviewed | Zenbody's homepage, treatment (semaglutide/tirzepatide), how-it-works, clinical-research, and disclaimer/legal pages |
| Comparison criteria | Advertised price & conditions, what the price includes, medication type & regulatory status, medical safeguards, format flexibility, support, availability, reputation & evidence |
| Personally tested? | No — no checkout, order, or medication use |
| Could not independently verify | The specific compounding pharmacy and its accreditation, the full state-availability list, delivery timeframe, whether price scales with dose, and cancellation/refund terms — none are published on the pages we reviewed |
| How the rating was calculated | A weighted mean of six scored categories (see "How We Scored Zenbody"), evaluated September 2026 |
What Is Zenbody?
Zenbody is a telehealth weight-management platform offering clinician-guided, compounded GLP-1 treatment through a three-step process — assessment, clinical review, and delivery with ongoing app support — detailed in How It Works below.
Its differentiator: both semaglutide and tirzepatide are offered as either a weekly injection or a daily oral tablet, prescribed, dose-titrated, and monitored by a licensed clinician either way (Provider-published).
The honest tradeoff: Zenbody's medications are compounded, not branded FDA-approved products — the same active ingredients as Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro and Zepbound, but not the identical finished drug. Full detail in the compounded-vs-branded section below.
Semaglutide $149/mo · Tirzepatide $179/mo (advertised starting price)
See If You Qualify — Free Assessment →Prescription only · confirm state availability at checkout
Zenbody Pricing & Plans
The prices below are advertised starting prices published on Zenbody's official pricing section and last checked in September 2026.
| Semaglutide (GLP-1 receptor agonist) | From $149/month |
|---|---|
| Tirzepatide (GIP + GLP-1 receptor agonist) | From $179/month |
| Format | Weekly injection or daily oral tablet — your choice, either molecule |
| Availability | Advertised as "available in most states"; the full eligible-state list is not published |
Compounded vs. Branded: What Zenbody Prescribes
This is the most important distinction on the page: Zenbody dispenses compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide — not the branded, FDA-approved finished products. Zenbody says so directly on its own site: “Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded medications for safety, effectiveness, or quality before marketing. A licensed clinician determines whether a compounded medication is appropriate for an individual patient” (Provider-published).
Compounded and branded versions share the same active ingredient but are not identical or interchangeable — they can differ in formulation, manufacturing, testing, and regulatory oversight. Zenbody does not name the compounding pharmacy or network that fills its prescriptions, and we could not independently verify its accreditation.
A related point on evidence: the trial results Zenbody cites (STEP 1 and SURMOUNT-1, discussed below) evaluated the branded, FDA-approved subcutaneous drugs, not Zenbody's own compounded, dual-format product — and Zenbody discloses this itself: those results “do not establish the effectiveness of Zenbody's compounded formulations or predict an individual patient's results”, an unusually candid disclosure worth crediting. If brand-name medication is a requirement, our Hers review covers a program built around FDA-approved Wegovy.
How Zenbody Works: 3 Steps
- 1.Complete a short online assessment
Answer questions covering your goals and medical history. Zenbody states there is no cost and no obligation for this step.
- 2.A clinician reviews your case
A licensed provider reviews your intake and tailors a protocol covering medication, supplementation, and lifestyle. A prescription is never guaranteed — Zenbody states typical review timing varies by case.
- 3.Medication is shipped, with ongoing support
If prescribed, your medication ships with discreet delivery. Zenbody's app then provides ongoing tracking, coaching, and monthly check-ins for the duration of your program.
Pros and Cons of Zenbody
Pros
- Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered as either a weekly injection or a daily oral tablet — a format choice most compounded-GLP-1 competitors do not offer on both molecules
- Licensed clinicians handle intake review and dose titration
- Free delivery advertised
- Ongoing support built into a dedicated app (tracking, coaching, monthly check-ins) rather than left to email support
- Zenbody explicitly discloses that its cited trial results apply to the branded drugs, not its own compounded formulation — more candid than many competitors on this point
- Displays a LegitScript certification seal, a third-party healthcare-merchant verification
Cons
- Compounded medication — not an FDA-approved finished product; not evaluated by the FDA for safety, efficacy, or quality
- No tiered or prepaid-term pricing published (no 3-, 6-, or 12-month rate), unlike several competitors
- Not stated whether price changes as your dose is titrated upward
- Not available in all U.S. states, and the full eligible-state list is not published
- No member testimonials, satisfaction rating, or outcome statistics published on the pages we reviewed
- The specific compounding pharmacy and its accreditation are not named
- No delivery timeframe or cancellation/refund policy stated on the marketing pages we reviewed
We do not count “requires a prescription” as a drawback — a clinician deciding eligibility is an expected safeguard, not a flaw.
Compared with Shed (both name-brand and compounded), Zenbody is compounded-only but adds the oral-tablet choice on both molecules. Zenbody is one of the few programs letting you pick injection or pill for either drug.
Zenbody vs. Other GLP-1 Programs
Based on advertised prices published on each provider's official website in our September 2026 comparison. Competitor figures vary and are ranges, not fixed quotes; confirm current pricing and conditions with each provider.
| Feature | Zenbody (advertised) | Other GLP-1 programs (typical) |
|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide starting price | $149/month | Roughly $89–$299/month |
| Tirzepatide starting price | $179/month | Roughly $149–$399/month |
| Medication type | Compounded (not FDA-approved) | Compounded and/or branded |
| Format choice | Injection or oral tablet, both molecules | Mostly injection-only |
| Medical visits | 100% online | Varies by provider |
| Ongoing support | Dedicated app (tracking, coaching, monthly check-ins) | Varies by provider |
| Shipping | Free (timeframe not stated) | Varies by provider |
| Insurance required | No | No (most providers) |
The Clinical Evidence Behind Zenbody's Medications
Zenbody cites two published, peer-reviewed clinical trials to support the underlying molecules it prescribes. Both trials studied the branded, FDA-approved subcutaneous injection — not Zenbody's own compounded, dual-format product — and Zenbody says so itself (Medical/regulatory evidence, Provider-disclosed).
STEP 1 — semaglutide, 68 weeks
In the STEP 1 trial published in the New England Journal of Medicine, adults without diabetes receiving 2.4 mg once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide plus a lifestyle intervention had a mean 14.9% body-weight reduction at 68 weeks, versus 2.4% with placebo.
SURMOUNT-1 — tirzepatide, 72 weeks
In the SURMOUNT-1 trial, also published in NEJM, adults without diabetes receiving once-weekly subcutaneous tirzepatide had mean body-weight changes of 15.0%, 19.5%, and 20.9% at 72 weeks at the studied 5 mg, 10 mg, and 15 mg doses, respectively.
Who Zenbody Is Best For
Zenbody is the strongest fit for patients who:
- ✓Want the option to choose between a weekly injection and a daily oral tablet, for either semaglutide or tirzepatide
- ✓Are comfortable with compounded medication after understanding it is not FDA-approved
- ✓Value app-based ongoing coaching and monthly check-ins alongside clinician oversight
- ✓Are new to GLP-1 therapy and want a fully online intake-to-delivery process
- ✓Do not require the branded, FDA-approved pen specifically
If FDA-approved medication is a hard requirement, or you want the trial-backed branded drugs themselves, Zenbody is not the right pick — a program like Hers keeps FDA-approved Wegovy on the table instead.
How We Scored Zenbody
Our 6.9/10 is a weighted mean of six categories, scored in September 2026 using the same criteria we apply to every GLP-1 program. Scores reflect provider-published information and our editorial analysis; where we could not verify a claim, the category is capped rather than given full marks.
How We Scored It
Clear starting prices for both molecules, but no tiered or prepaid-term pricing published and dose-based price changes are not addressed.
Licensed clinicians review every intake before prescribing; medication is compounded and not FDA-approved.
A dedicated app for tracking, coaching, and monthly check-ins is a genuine differentiator; support quality not independently verified.
No member testimonials, satisfaction ratings, or self-reported outcome data are published — the lowest-scoring category.
Rare injection-or-oral choice on both molecules; "most states" availability is not itemized and delivery timeframe is not stated.
LegitScript-certified and cites real peer-reviewed trial data, but that data covers the branded drug, not Zenbody's own formulation, and no independent reviews are published.
The same weighted method is applied to every provider we score, so competitor ratings are comparable. See our full methodology.
Zenbody Alternatives
Zenbody competes on format flexibility rather than lowest price:
- Shed offers both name-brand and compounded GLP-1 options with continuous coaching folded into its plan.
- Want branded, FDA-approved medication instead? Our Hers review covers a program built around FDA-approved Wegovy.
Recommended Providers
Our editorial team’s top picks for this category.
Zenbody FAQ
Final Verdict
Our editorial take
Zenbody's real differentiator is choice: semaglutide or tirzepatide, and injection or oral tablet, all under one licensed-clinician intake with an app built around ongoing coaching and monthly check-ins. It is also unusually candid for the category — stating plainly, on its own site, that the trial results it cites belong to the branded drugs and don't predict what its own compounded formulation will do for you. The tradeoffs are the ones that come with any compounded program: no FDA approval, no published tiered pricing, and no member reviews or outcome data to weigh alongside the clinical evidence. For a patient who wants format flexibility and accepts compounded medication, Zenbody is a reasonable pick worth comparing on price against alternatives first. Overall: 6.9/10.
Advertised starting pricing: semaglutide $149/mo · tirzepatide $179/mo
Start Your Zenbody Assessment →Compounded medication · prescription required · confirm state availability
Sources & Verification
Prices, policies, and program details below were taken from Zenbody's official website and last checked in September 2026. Provider-published information is attributed as such and was not independently verified through checkout. Medical and regulatory statements are supported by independent, peer-reviewed sources.
- Prices, treatment formats, process steps, LegitScript certification, and the compounded-medication disclaimer: Zenbody official website — homepage, treatment, how-it-works, and legal/disclaimer pages (checked September 2026).
- STEP 1 semaglutide trial data (14.9% vs. 2.4% at 68 weeks): New England Journal of Medicine — Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity.
- SURMOUNT-1 tirzepatide trial data (15.0%/19.5%/20.9% at 72 weeks): New England Journal of Medicine — Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity.
Advertising & Affiliate Disclosure: We may receive compensation when you click on links to partners featured on this site. Our rankings and recommendations are based on our independent research methodology and editorial standards, not on sponsorship or payment. Some links are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you make a purchase.
Medical Disclaimer: The content on this site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult with a qualified healthcare provider for medical questions, treatment decisions, or emergency care. Do not disregard professional medical advice or delay seeking it based on information found here.